Coronavirus (COVID-19)

For health information and advice, read our pages on coronavirus. Learn about the government response to coronavirus on GOV.UK

Meet the board

Learn more about our board of directors at Cumbria, Northumberland, Tyne and Wear NHS Foundation Trust.


Ken Jarrold CBE

Appointed February 1, 2018

Qualifications include BA [Hons] in History from Cambridge University, Diploma of the Institute of Health Services Management and an Honorary Doctorate from the Open University

Chief Executive

John Lawlor OBE

Appointed June 23, 2014

Qualifications include BSc (Hons) Mathematics (first class); Post Graduate Certificate of Education, Maths and Physics, secondary level; and Post Graduate Diploma in Leading Innovation and Change.

Finance Director and Deputy Chief Executive

James Duncan

Appointed April 1, 2006

Qualifications include BA Politics and History and member of the Chartered Institute of Public Finance and Accountancy.

Executive Medical Director

Dr Rajesh Nadkarni

Appointed January 16, 2016

Qualifications include FRCPsych, MMedSc in Psychiatry (University of Leeds), Doctorate of Medicine (MD) and Diplomate of the National Board in Psychiatry from India and Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery (MBBS).

Executive Director of Workforce and OD

Lynne Shaw

Appointed June 1, 2018

Qualifications include; MA in Human Resource Management, Post Graduate Certificate in Strategic Workforce Planning, and BA (Hons) in Business Management.

Executive Director of Commissioning and Quality Assurance

Lisa Quinn

Appointed February 1, 2009

Qualifications include Member of the Chartered Institute of Management Accountants (CIMA).

Executive Director of Nursing and Chief Operating Officer

Gary O’Hare

Appointed April 1, 2006

Qualifications include Enrolled Nurse; Registered Mental Nurse and Diploma in the Care and Management of the Mentally Disordered Offender (ENB A71).

Non-Executive Director

Alexis Cleveland

Appointed July 1, 2015

Qualifications include BSc in Statistics and Geography.

Non-Executive Director

Paula Breen

Appointed October 1, 2019

Qualifications include MA (Strategic Human Resource Management); Chartered Institute of Personnel and Development (CIPD); BA Business Management & Finance; Institute of Leadership and Management (ILAM); Post Graduate Diploma in Education Leadership.

Non-Executive Director

Peter Studd

Appointed January 1, 2016

Qualifications include BSc (Econ) Hons in Business Administration - University of Wales Institute of Science and Technology (UWIST, Cardiff).

Non-Executive Director

Darren Best

Appointed October 1, 2019

Experience and skills / expertise: 30 years as a Police Officer with over a decade working in senior police leadership roles

Non-Executive Director

Michael Robinson

Appointed January 16, 2019

Qualifications include BA [Hons] in Law from Oxford University. Qualified Solicitor (now retired).

Non-Executive Director

Dr Leslie Boobis

Appointed July 1, 2015

Qualifications include MB ChB (University of Glasgow), FRCS (England and Edinburgh) and MD (University of Leicester). Also level 3 UKCHIP Member and Member of BCS.

Non-Executive Director

David Arthur, FCA

Appointed January 14, 2019

Qualifications include Chartered Accountant (1977), Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales (1982).