Provider Collaboratives

Provider Collaboratives are about working together to improve outcomes for patients.

From 1 April 2021, a new approach to commissioning, called Provider Collaboratives, means improvements for specialised mental health, learning disability and autism services across the North East and North Cumbria.

North East and North Cumbria Mental Health, Learning Disability and Autism Partnership, made up of Cumbria, Northumberland, Tyne and Wear NHS Foundation Trust (CNTW) and Tees, Esk and Wear Valleys NHS Foundation Trust (TEWV), have commissioned three Provider Collaborative services.

This includes:

  • Children and young people mental health inpatient services
  • Adult low and medium secure services
  • Adult Eating disorder services

Lisa Quinn, Executive Director of Finance, Commissioning & Quality Assurance said: “This is a really exciting opportunity for our area. It’s a new approach to commissioning specialised services and will put patient experience and clinical expertise at the very heart of service delivery. Care will be wrapped around individuals, no matter where they live.”

Sharon Pickering, director of planning, commissioning, performance and communications at TEWV, said: “This is truly a joined up approach to the way we commission specialised service for the whole population across the North East and North Cumbria.

Our ambition is for people to experience high quality, specialist care, as close to home as possible.

“We’re aiming to reduce health inequalities across our area by making access to treatment and support much easier and focusing on community alternatives to hospital admissions.”

The new Provider Collaboratives are part of a national programme to establish NHS-led Provider Collaboratives for specialised services.

Read more about the NHS-led Provider Collaborative at: New NHS-led Provider Collaboratives – Cumbria, Northumberland, Tyne and Wear NHS Foundation Trust (

[email protected]