EXTRAORDINARY MEETING OF THE COUNCIL OF GOVERNORS

Thursday, 21 December 2017, Committee Dining Room, St Nicholas' Hospital, Gosforth, Newcastle, NE3 3XT, 12.30-1.30pm



Draft Minutes

Present:

Alexis Cleveland Acting Chair

Margaret Adams Public Governor, South Tyneside

Colin Browne Carer Governor, Older Peoples Services

Michael Butler Public Governor, Sunderland Anne Carlile Carer Governor, Adult Services

Andrew Fothergill Service User Governor, Adult Services Fiona Grant Service User Governor, Adult Services

Claire Keys Staff Governor, Clinical

Austin O'Malley Public Governor, Newcastle/Rest of England and Wales

Daniel Nettle Newcastle University Governor

Peter Okey Staff Governor, Medical Pauline Pearson Northumbria University

Denise Porter Community and Voluntary Sector

Rachel Simpson Service User Governor, Learning Disability Services

Jack Wilson Service User Governor, Children and Young Peoples Services

Cheryl Wright Public Governor, Gateshead

In attendance:

Caroline Wild Deputy Director, Communications and Corporate Relations

Jennifer Cribbes Corporate Affairs Manager Wendy Pinkney Corporate Affairs Officer

Governor Support:

Ray Bryan Carer to Rachel Simpson

Apologies:

Victoria Bullerwell Staff Governor, Non Clinical
Cath Hepburn Public Governor, North Tyneside
Lucy Reynolds Service User Governor, Neurological

Lisa Strong Staff Governor, Clinical Allison Thompson Gateshead Council

Bob Waddell Staff Governor, Non Clinical Services

Item	Discussion
	Welcome and Introductions Following a round of introductions, Alexis Cleveland welcomed everyone to the meeting and in particular the three new governors who had recently joined the Council. Alexis confirmed that the meeting was quorate.
1.	Apologies for absence Apologies for absence were noted as above.

2. Appointment of the Chair

Alexis Cleveland outlined the reason for calling an extraordinary meeting to appoint a new Chair for the Trust and thanked governors for taking the time to attend.

Alexis reflected on the process taken so far, led by the Nominations Committee on behalf of the Council of Governors, to appoint a new Chair of the Trust. This followed Hugh Morgan Williams' decision to stand down from the position. She confirmed that Gatenby Sanderson had been appointed again as professional advisors to support the appointment of a Chair. She added that a robust method had been followed and key attributes required for the post had been identified at a previous governor/nomination committee session were considered at the longlisting and shortlisting stages.

Alexis explained that one of the final three candidates had withdrawn due to personal reasons.

The interview panel included governors Fiona Grant, Austin O'Malley and Anne Carlile. Following the subsequent session on 12 December involving four focus groups, feedback was incorporated into the interview process and this assisted the panel to reach a conclusion as follows.

Recommendation of the Panel: To appoint Ken Jarrold, CBE, as Chair of the Trust, subject to relevant checks.

The Govennors voted unanimously to accept the recommendation.

Alexis advised that depending on relevant DBS and employment checks, the aim would be for Ken to commence as Chair initially on 1 February 2018.

3. Nomination to NHS Providers, Governor Advisory Committee

Caroline Wild outlined the purpose and details of the nomination process, stating that Governors would be requested to nominate a single member of the Council for election to the committee, with a deadline date of 12 January 2018.

Caroline proposed that in the first instance, expressions of interest be submitted to Jennifer Cribbes, Corporate Services Manager. If more than one expression is received, governors will be asked their opinions via the weekly bulletin on Wednesday, 3 January 2018.

4. Closed Minutes for Approval – Thursday, 2 February 2017

The minutes were approved as a true record.

5. **Any Other Business**

There being no further business the meeting was declared closed.